Meet The Label: “Underluxe Records”

For our second installment of our new segment “Meet The Label” we are acquainted by Brussels, Belgium based record label Underluxe Records. We get to also know a little more about the brains behind the label and its vision also getting a chance to find out a bit more  about one of the upcoming projects to be released under the label “Road To South Africa” a new single release by co-founder of the label UC Beatz.

Without more being said everyone meet Underluxe.

72362894_2390630450985793_6279843576662720512_n

  • Greetings & welcome to “Meet Me Underground”, glad you could join us. Can you please introduce yourself & tell us how Underluxe Records started and by whom?

Hey! Thank you for having me. I’m UC Beatz, a House producer, DJ and label owner from Brussels, Belgium. I’ve co founded Underluxe Records back in 2011 with my friend Saï aka L’Authenticité with the idea to have a platform to release our music. That’s how and where I released my first EPs. Then through the years other artists joined the roster.

  • The formation or start of a label varies according to vision, aims & hopes of one or more individual concerned. What was something that came to you and inspired you to take the bold step?

From the start with Underluxe we wanted to control all the process to release our music: the choice of the tracks, the master engineer, the artwork, etc. Same for my very own label Entrepôt, I personally supervise every step. I’ve always done things independently. I don’t like someone telling me what to do.

73238661_1158403441011436_6455470209644888064_n

 

  • Underluxe Records not being the only label you run/own, how is it different to “Underluxe” if it is any different?

Underluxe Records is for digital purposes. It is also a home to release stuff I couldn’t sign somewhere else. It’s a kind of laboratory. But having only immaterial releases was frustrating for a wax lover like me. So back in 2014, I’ve founded my own imprint called Entrepôt Records which focus on vinyl. The particularity of it is that its pressings are limited and it works without distributor. It’s a strictly underground affair. I’m selling my records directly to the customers and to the shops from hand to hand without any intermediate.

  • Could we corner the label/s to a specific genre/sound or in the near future we might find a difference emerging, be it a Soul, Hip-Hop, Jazz, Pop release coming forth?

With Underluxe Records we don’t focus on one specific genre. Since day one we’ve released Hip-hop and Downtempo aside House Music.

While with Entrepôt Records, I focus 100% on House, more specifically on Deep House.

  • One trait you believe upholds the vision of the label/s highly, making it truly different/original?

Both labels have a common vision: delivering quality underground stuff.

  • Now onto the forthcoming release “Road to South Africa” first off the title of the song, how did it come about?  What’s was the inspiration behind it?

The title of the single was inspired from a dream I’ve made. I was driving through beautiful landscapes in SA and I saw the smiles of the people, the colours of the luxuriant nature and the blue sky while listening to sweet soulful music. It was cool I remembered it as I usually don’t remember my dreams. So when I woke up, I started working on this track trying to put this dream into notes and rhythm.

73395409_405688026768721_5657645889422884864_n

  • Can we take the title in a literal sense or figurative?

Figurative as it comes from a dream’s vision, and literally as I hope soon or later to take that road to visit your wonderful country and play gigs there.

  • Care to run us through the production process behind the song? (Not asking any production secrets lol), the track possessing a mellow vibe to it, embodying soul and groove. What helped you take the direction of your sound?

I’ve always been into soulful since my first release for the simple reason that it is a part of me. I grew up listening to my parent’s record collection which was full of treasures from the Motown golden era. My attraction for this kind of grooves comes from there. About the production process, I had decided to make something less sampled and more played. So I composed, played and recorded the bass line, the rhodes, the synth lead and my vocals.

  • “Road to South Africa” coming at the latter part of the year, is this the labels final release and if not can we expect something before year ends? And did the target set out at the beginning been achieved? Can we expect some more music/events/mixes?

The next and final release for 2019 on Underluxe will arrive in December. As for Entrepôt the next release is scheduled for early 2020. I guess I can say the target was achieved as a label owner, the reaction from the public to the labels releases have been warm and overwhelming. About mixes, I have a podcast serie with my label Entrepôt, called “Entrepôt Cast”. The concept is to invite DJ’s that I like and who cherish the black gold as much as I do.

  • In terms of 2020 what are some of the labels goals & aims?

Becoming more famous than David Guetta and Tiësto together! Lol, no I’m kidding haha. The goal remains the same: delivering quality underground music independently. 

  • Where can people send in the demos [If the label is taking any] ?

For Underluxe Records, people can submit their demos to underluxerecords@gmail.com. For Entrepôt Records, I do not take demos.

  • Thank you for being part of our “Meet The Label” segment, where can people get in contact with the label?

People can get in contact with the labels through Facebook.

I also have a website for Entrepôt Records: entrepotrecords.com

Thank you again for having me! 

 

One thought on “Meet The Label: “Underluxe Records”

  1. Pingback: Welcome To “Meet The Label” | Meet Me Underground

Leave a comment